I’m Blessed

This morning I woke up feeling brand new! The title of my blog is the “OFIM Blog” (Oh F**k, It’s Monday), a feeling that so many of us have when we’re sad that the weekend is over and we have to go back to work. Today, I don’t feel like that. I woke up feeling blessed and highly favored! I usually dread waking up for work, but I’m up extra early today before my alarm even went off. I decided to write this blog before I did anything else to let you all know how fortunate you are just to have woken up this morning.

Treat every day as a blessing because you never know when it can be your last. Usually you hear people say things like this after they’ve lost someone close to them, but that isn’t the case this time. I just feel like saying it. I’m thankful. Thankful to be alive. Thankful to be healthy. Thankful to have good family and friends all around me. Thankful that I have a job to go to this morning. Too often we complain so much about the things we don’t have that we lose sight of all the great things we DO have. So this morning I just wanted to acknowledge how happy I am at this current moment in time.
I enjoyed my APCA conference over the weekend. Met some incredible, talented people. Networked with some of the programming board members of a buncha schools as well as some of the other showcasing acts in the conference. I feel really good about what I was able to accomplish in the short amount of time that I was there and even though I didn’t book any big gigs on site, I feel confident that I’ll get some work from it on the back end. Progress was definitely made when I look back at my experience from the first regional conference I did last fall to how my interactions were at this national conference that just took place.
I learned a lot about myself this weekend. This comedy business is a long, grueling process to become a stand out performer or a household name. I’m no where near that level yet, but getting closer every day. To anyone out there struggling to achieve your dreams: DON’T GIVE UP! Not to sound all cliche, but yes you’ll fall down 20 times; just keep getting back up. Don’t be afraid to fail along the journey. Always learn from your downfalls and apply them to your future to keep growing. I’m focused more that ever now and ready to apply all of these ideas I just came up with to make my act so much stronger. Most important, no matter where I go, I always know that my God has my back!
