APCA Baby!!!

So I showcased at my first APCA Conference this past weekend and what an experience it was. I’ve had a few days to sit down and reflect on the event now and all I can think about is how much I can’t wait to do it again!

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t kinda nervous. I was the “new kid on the block”, showcasing after so many other experienced performers of all kinds including a few well known comics that I have a great deal of respect for (i.e. Ronnie Jordan, Louis Ramey, Alingon Mitra). We were all there with the same purpose though. The goal was to entertain this large group of college kids representing their respective campus activities planning boards for a shot at getting booked to come perform at their schools.

I put a lot of pressure on myself to deliver the performance of a lifetime and make a huge splash on the scene and it may have been a little overwhelming. At the end of the night, I was feeling kind of down. I didn’t feel like I put my best foot forward and of course I wasn’t securing as many bookings as some of those big name acts I mentioned. I felt like a failure. But once I got home and watched the tape of my set, my spirits picked up a bit.

Reviewing that tape made me realize it wasn’t as bad as I initially thought. I did my best. I got laughs. I just didn’t get the flood of interest that I was anticipating so much. I looked forward to this event all year long and when things didn’t go my way, I got a lil sad. But of course it wasn’t a total loss. I had fun all weekend and I learned a lot from the experience. I’ve seen the structure of the conference and know what to expect next time. I know what I need to improve on as far as my showcase material and my overall presentation as well.

My favorite takeaway from the weekend was the message from a great motivational speaker there by the name of Bobby Audley. Two simple words: DON’T BE! Everything won’t always go your way. Maybe you’re feeling down and out. Maybe you’re not where you want to be and you’re depressed… but don’t be. DON’T BE! Those 2 simple words will motivate me to keep it pushing whenever I find myself slipping into a lil rut. I will continue working hard and putting my time in and my time will come!

So what’s next? I’m competing in the Last Comix Standing Finals at Foxwoods this Sunday. I really should be trying to book a room right now instead of writing a blog. Since I waited til the last minute, the Resort is all out of rooms and now I’m gonna be scrambling to find an alternative. Really hope I can walk away with that title. That will definitely give me a confidence boost moving on. Then I’ll be looking forward to my next APCA showcase, whenever that is. I may do the next Northeast Conference in Hershey, PA or wait for the National Conference in Jacksonville, FL this spring. Either way, they definitely haven’t seen the last of me. I got a taste and I’m coming back for more. APCA BABY!!!

