It’s a Long Way to the Top if You Wanna Rock & Roll

THERE ARE NO SHORTCUTS TO THE TOP! Just wanted to get that out early. That’s what this blog is about. There’s a long road to success. It takes time. In order to reach any goal you have to work hard at it. I understand that and I’m willing to put in the work. Too many people do NOT understand this.

Whether it be other small time comics like myself, or just general supporters, I often hear a lot of plots and schemes about how I can blow up and become famous relatively overnight. That stuff goes in one ear and out the other for me. I don’t even give thoughts like that a chance to settle inside my brain. Because for me to even believe for one second that there’s some magical method to hop, skip and jump over all of the hard work and dedication that it’s gonna take to reach my dreams, I’d be hindering my own progress.

Don’t get me wrong, I love when people compliment me after shows and wish me well in my career. Even positive predictions like “I can’t wait to see you on TV one day” are fine with me. But I know TV deals don’t just come rolling in cuz I made a handful of people laugh in one room, one night, in one corner of the country. It takes consistency. Night after night after night after night of owning crowds and working rooms in ways that everyone who walks out of there will talk about my performance for days. Consistency on a high level that demands attention and promotion to the next level of my career.

I’ve only been doing comedy for 3 and a half years and I know plenty of talented comics who are way more experienced than I am and they still haven’t broken through to that mainstream/household name level. Who am I to believe that I’m so great that I can just pass over them all and achieve levels of success that they’ve been striving to reach for so long? I’m a student to the game. I watch what everyone is doing. The people doing it now, the people who’ve done it before me and even those just starting to do it now. There’s something to learn from everyone. I watch their high points and their low points to see what mistakes I don’t want to make. I respect everyone who is out there working hard and chasing the same dream as me.

Yet some young comics who have been doing this for even less time than I have think they’re ready for the big leagues. They don’t need advice from anyone because they somehow already know more than everyone else. They have all the answers Sway! I heard one kid talking about an established comic and he said “I don’t even think he’s that funny. I could do better than him”. Bullshit! If you were funnier than him, you’d be the one on Comedy Central with your own special. But you’re not! You’re sitting right next to me at this open mic in a bar and you’re trying to make these people laugh while they’re eating their chicken wings. Comedy Central won’t be knocking on your door anytime soon. And comedy is pretty subjective. Although YOU may not like this guy’s particular brand of comedy, obviously there are enough people who do in order for him to have gotten to that level. So check the ego and just keep working on your own stuff before you throw shots at people in higher places than you.

I have no doubt in my mind that one day I will make it big. How big? I don’t know. I just wanna tour the country, make people laugh, and earn enough money to take care of my family. I will work my ass off until that day comes. It could take me 10-15 years. It could only be 3-5. Whenever my time comes, I’ll be ready to step up to the plate. But until then, I have a plan and I’ll just keep working hard and progressing, making steps to keep furthering my career. I don’t wanna be an overnight sensation because just as quick as it comes, it can go. I will take no shortcuts. I will grind and claw my way to the top and I will appreciate every step of the journey.

