Am I Doing Too Much?

My goal of keeping fresh content on the site has been a bust, I know. Not to make excuses (here comes an excuse), but I have soooo much to do and I really feel like there aren’t enough hours in the day. I seamlessly transfer from being a nerdy IT guy, to a sometimes drill Sargent-like fitness instructor, to a funny guy on a mic on any given day. I do a fairly decent job at balancing it all out and making it work, but lately I’ve been feeling like maybe I’m spreading myself too thin.

It’s such a complex I battle with. The many hats I wear and the roles I take up make me who I am. I believe it’s really important to be a well-rounded individual and not become one-dimensional. But at the same time, to become an expert in any single area requires much dedication and focus to that subject. I read a quote somewhere from Bruce Lee that said something like “I fear not the man who has practiced 10,000 kicks 1 time, but I fear the man who has practiced 1 kick 10,000 times”. I’m over here practicing 10,000 kicks!

If I’m gonna get better at my comedy (which is the ultimate goal above all) I have to completely devote myself to it. Anything else can almost be seen as a distraction. I got bills to pay though. Not like I can just quit my day job cuz I sure ain’t making enough from of my comedy gigs to survive off. So that’s not an option cuz I’ve gotta be a responsible adult and not end up a funny bum on the street.

And I definitely don’t wanna quit the gym. It keeps me sane. So many days I count down the hours, minutes and seconds at my job just waiting to leave and get to the gym for a good workout to release some tension. Plus once I start any challenge, I never like to give up. It would be too easy, and very lazy of me to walk away from this and not keep pushing myself. On top of that, I really love my team. They’ve really become a second, or third, or fourth family to me. I don’t know how many families I have at this point. Everyone adopts me like I’m some stray puppy that just wanders around the neighborhood and everyone keeps a bowl out back for me just in case I stop by that night.

So what other option do I have? Suck it up and keep working hard I guess. It’ll all pay off one day. No success story is complete without the struggle. This will be my story. I find a lot of comedy in all that I do too. So every relationship that I’ve built around these duties gives me multiple interactions that make for good stories to tell when I perform on stage.

Speaking of performing on stage: my next show is this Saturday (3/29) at George O’Dea’s in Syracuse, NY where I’ll be hosting the next stop on The 3 Phils Tour. I’ll be posting all my dates for April this weekend which will include a trip to Ithaca, Oneonta, Pennsylvania and whole weekend of hosting shows at the Funny Bone in Cuse. Still in talks with people about booking a few other things as well and lining my ducks up to continue making this the most productive year of my career so far and keep striving to reach my dreams.

20140327-213556.jpg

