Tis the Season

So with Christmas just around the corner, this is the time of year where many of us will be attending various holiday parties. For those of you who don’t know, I am a full time IT Analyst by day. I went to my company’s holiday party over the weekend and if you follow me on Facebook you know what happens next.

Pretty much, since I told a group of coworkers of my moonlighting in comedy a couple months ago, that news has slowly trickled around the building. Well of course people talk a lot more in a social setting (especially with some drinks involved) and word got to some Administrative employees that I do stand up comedy. They first approached me in shock by this discovery and then immediately wanted to see me perform…….. like that night…… right there at the party.

Imagine me standing there minding my business, sipping a drink, eating some shrimp cocktail, enjoying some music and two-stepping to the beat and then being pressed my company’s CFO to get on the mic in front of 200 coworkers and tell some damn jokes! Nope! Not gon’ happen! I tried to let them down as gently as I could, but they were really persistent (they had been drinking too lol).

After ducking and dodging for a while I finally let them know that if they wanted to see me perform, they would have to set up an actual event and book me. Either that or just look out for when I’d be performing around town and buy a ticket to see me there.

I wasn’t scared at all of performing in front of these people I work with. I just know there’s a time and a place for everything and that wasn’t it. Plus if that is going to be most of their first impression of me doing comedy I want to make sure it’s a good one. Granted, I’m confident that I could’ve made most (if not all) of them laugh with a quick 5-10 minute set, and they would’ve been impressed with almost anything because many of them just knew me as the nerd who fixes their computer when it’s having problems, I still didn’t feel comfortable with that setup.

Anyways, maybe I’ll elaborate on this more sometime, but I’m rambling because I’m ready to go out and get some lotto tickets for the Mega Millions. If I win, I won’t be going back to work anyway so I won’t care what they think of me lol

Goodnight guys! I’ll holla

